Hannah Johnston Receives Education Award

June 12, 2020 – Hannah Johnston, a 2020 graduate of Gaylord High School, is the recipient of a $1,000 education award from the American Association of University Women Gaylord Area Branch (AAUW).  Hannah will be attending Central Michigan University in the fall to pursue studies in Pre-Medicine/Biology.  She is the daughter of Chad and Deb Johnston.

Hannah’s academic achievements, with a GPA of 4.238, merited recognition by the National Honor Society, Honors Convocation, All-Conference Academics, and National Consortium for Health Science Education.  She also participated in a wide variety of extra-curricular activities, including varsity bowling, Key Club, Social Lights, LINKS classroom aide, Cause for Paws, and graphic design for Student Council and Homecoming Dance committees.

A spirit of volunteerism and philanthropy has been a consistent aspect of Hannah’s high school years, with over 500 volunteer hours logged at dozens of organizations and events in efforts to help her community.  “Giving of my time and resources not only assists others,” Hannah wrote in her application, “it makes me feel as if I have more of a purpose outside of myself.”  As President of the Youth Advisory Committee of the Otsego Community Foundation, Hannah took a leadership role in helping to identify needs and granting funds to make a difference for youth in Otsego County.

The local AAUW branch raises funds for education awards through its used book sale held each October and a silent auction held in conjunction with the Women Making History event.

AAUW is a nationwide organization that advances equity and education for women and girls. The Gaylord Area Branch empowers through education awards, educational programs and honoring the achievements of local women.  For more program or membership information, visit  or email

Education Awards

There are no education awards available at this time. Please check back in August 2020. Thanks!

In the spring we usually post an education award for graduating high school seniors.

In the fall we usually post an education award available to women who are continuing their schooling after a year or more away from the educational setting OR who have completed one or more years of uninterrupted undergraduate study at the university level and plan to continue.

Eligible applicants must be women who live in Otsego County.

Woman Making History Honorees

2018: Kandus Schalter            2019: Rosie Warner

2020: Janice Lampert