AAUW – Gaylord Area Branch

Donations go towards Education Awards and programming for local girls and women:
Donate Button

Used Book Sale: Oct 2-3, 2020

WHEN: Friday, Oct 2: 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM; Saturday, Oct 3: 9:00 AM – Noon

WHERE: United Way, 116 E 5th St, Gaylord, MI 49735

All proceeds go towards Education Awards and programming for local girls and women.

Mark your calendars for the annual AAUW Gaylord Area Branch Used Book Sale on Oct 2 and 3. With CDC Guidelines in place, the United Way is hosting the sale in its Community Room (masks required).

Book donation barrels are located at Family Fare, Oliver Chiropractic, Gordon Food Service, United Way and Meyer Ace Hardware from September 16 to September 30.

For AAUW members, if you plan to donate bags/boxes this year, please bring them to the United Way before or on September 29th. We will “quarantine” all books/bags/boxes for at least one day and will not accept donations the days of the sale.

Hope to see you at the sale and hope you are well!

Hannah Johnston Receives Education Award

Hannah Johnston, a 2020 graduate of Gaylord High School, is the recipient of a $1,000 education award from the American Association of University Women Gaylord Area Branch (AAUW).  For more information, go to our Awards page.

Tech Savvy Shifting to Fall 2021

Mark your calendars for the our next Tech Savvy event, tentatively scheduled for Saturday, November 20, 2021.

After several years of hosting a Spring event, Tech Savvy is shifting to the Fall, allowing us to eliminate conflicts with sporting events, enhance involvement of college-age mentors in STEM, and ultimately benefit even more girls in 6th through 9th grade from our local communities.  Given uncertainties surrounding the current pandemic and safety of large group gatherings for the Fall of 2020, we’ve decided to schedule our next event for the following year with a tentative date of November 20, 2021.  Detailed planning will begin early next year with more information to follow.

In the meantime, visit the Tech Savvy page for a list of online STEM resources for girls.

Tree Planting Honors Mary Fox as Chair of Successful Tech Savvy Program

Tree to Honor Mary Fox and Tech Savvy

Members of the AAUW Gaylord Area Branch Tech Savvy Committee honor Mary Fox for her efforts as chair of the successful Tech Savvy Program. Planting an Ivory Silk Lilac in Fox’s honor on the University Center grounds are (from left to right) Margo Noss, AAUW President Pat Morse, Mary Tomaski, Mary Fox, Brenda Brummel and Lisa Marie Tobin.  The plaque reads “Ivory Silk Lilac, Planted to celebrate Tech Savvy and its founding chair Mary Fox.” In its seventh year, Tech Savvy is a one-day STEM workshop for 6th – 9th grade girls in Northeast Michigan.

From the Gaylord Herald Times: Tech Savvy 2018

Photo Courtesy of Gaylord Herald Times

GAYLORD — Girls from around the state made a beeline for the annual Tech Savvy STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) event for teen girls in Gaylord Saturday.

Carrie Miller, a math teacher from Tahquamenon Area Schools in the Upper Peninsula, said the American Association of University Women (AAUW) Gaylord area branch’s Tech Savvy event gives girls unique opportunities to develop connections with women.

She stressed the importance of the fifth-annual event’s full day of workshops for young girls and said Luce County, where her school is located, has very few examples of women with college degrees.

“What I have seen is some students who may have never considered going to college come here and hear that there’s opportunities for them that they didn’t know,” Miller said. “There’s just not opportunities for them to see professional women in our county … They don’t have a lot of positive female role models.”    Continue Reading

AAUW Action Network

The cornerstone of AAUW’s e-advocacy efforts, Action Network sends subscribers urgent e-mail notices to contact their members of Congress. With our online Two-Minute Activist tool, it takes just minutes to make your voice heard. Check it out here.

Please Join Us!

If you want to see what we do you can stop by our lunch meetings to check us out. We meet at noon on the second Wednesday of the month at the Otsego County Library (700 S. Otsego Ave.
Gaylord, MI 49735), and feel free to bring a sack lunch. We do not meet in June, July or December.  If you can’t make it to our lunch meetings, you can still be involved in our mission through our various activities (see the “About Us” page).

In case of inclement weather: If Law Enforcement calls a State of Emergency, we will not meet.

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is a nationwide organization that advances equity and education for women and girls. The Gaylord Area Branch empowers through education awards, educational programs, and honoring the achievements of local women. For more information email aauwgaylord@gmail.com.


AAUW Gaylord Area Branch: Advancing equity and education for women and girls since 5/9/1976.